It is thought that the territory in which Plungė is situated was inhabited in 5th–1st centuries BC. After the Treaty of Melno country seats were started establishing in the forests of Samogitia. From the 14th century to the middle of the 16th century, Plungė was a part of Gandinga volost as an ordinary settlement. Later, the population of Plungė started to grow faster and surpassed the population of Gandinga. In 1567 Plungė was mentioned as a town.
On January 13, 1792, Plungė granted Magdeburg rights. From 1806 to 1873 Plungė belonged to Platon Zubov, and later – to Oginskiai, who built a palace here in 1879. During the interwar period there was established gymnasium in 1925 and built railway branch-line in 1932. In 1933 current Catholic Church was consecrated. Since the private hospital was founded in 1939, maternity, surgical sections started their activities. Jewish community composed about 44% of inhabitants whereas about 55% of inhabitants were Lithuanians. According to that Jewish were active participants governing the city. However in events of 1941 almost all Jewish community was destroyed by Nazis. Plungė’s district is situated in the Northern West of Lithuania. The district is divided into 11 ward. The cultural heritage of Plungė region is rich in both material and nonmaterial senses. We can still hear the Samogitian dialect today in the region and find traces of the region’s noble past in its old cemeteries, urban development, unique scenery and particularly alive traditions of folk art. Plungė district is proud of having most magnificent and well kept the ensemble of the mansion of duke M. Oginskis, it attracts attention of every visitor. Unlike other districts, Plungė district is famous for its literary and sacral art heritage. In the district of Plungė anyone can feel the spirit of Žemaitė, V. Mačernis, S Čiurlionienė-Kymantaite, Šatrijas Ragana and other classics of literature that still stoke creative ambitions of young creators. District distinguishes itself for its unique baroque style wooden churches of Alsėdžiai, Gintališkė, Gegrėnai, Beržoras and Plateliai. There are two Roads of the Passion in Plungė district – Žemaičių Kalvarija and Beržoras, the feast of Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary attracts thousands of pilgrims from different countries. Plateliai – the most beautiful and historically interesting town of Plungė region in Samagotia. Plateliai environs are surrounded by lakes, by beautiful and unique nature and therefore it attracts the lovers of both active and passive recreation. The lakes invite to windsurf, row a boat, or water bicycle. Tourist can enjoy the natural beauty of the country side and its local drinks and food. Plateliai environs have master wood workers such as Stanislovas Riauba and Jonas and Regina Jonušai and they still carve their unique wood sculptures. Kazys Striaupa, Vytas Jaugėla, Gediminas and Leonardas Černiauskai, Antanas Vaskys and Rimantas Laima have been turned their home into museums. The singularity of Plungė is conditioned by ability of people of Plungė to cherish and be proud of their past, to be conscious of the present and to have clear vision of the future.